Skip to content

Green Star Governance

Created by the sector, for the sector, Green Star is guided by leading industry professionals to ensure it continues to keep up with the latest sustainability practices, and challenges outstanding results. 

GS governance banner

The Green Star Advisory Committee and supporting groups of industry experts ensure the Green Star rating system continues as the leading rating tool for the built environment. The advisors challenge Green Star through continuous improvement of the certification process and by representing the property and construction sector, seek to increase industry participation in Green Star. 

The Green Star Advisory Committee

The Green Star Advisory Committee is made up of sustainability leaders with experience in rating systems and the role of independent certification in driving change.

They hold senior positions and have an understanding of the economic, social and environmental drivers that affect the adoption of sustainable building practices.

The Green Star Advisory Committee works across the Expert Reference Panels (ERPs) to consolidate recommendations for the NZGBC Leadership Team and Board on all matters relating to the development of Green Star. In doing so, they are committed to ensuring that the Green Star rating system remains rigorous, market relevant, and valued by industry.

The Advisory Committee chair provides an update to the NZGBC Board twice a year


Alain McKinney

Precinct Properties

Callum Isherwood

Air New Zealand

Daniel Bryne

Auckland Airport

Debbie Wilson

Te Whatu Ora

Ivan Bartley

Tainui Group Holdings

Kristen Webster

Eke Panuku Development Ltd

Nick Alsop

Green Building Council Australia

Paola Boarin

The University of Auckland

Paul Jurasovich


Tom Slade


Expert Reference Panels

Expert Reference Panels assist with a defined topic of engagement. Panels are usually assembled through direct invitation, but individual panelists may be nominated by themselves or other members.

Anthony Calderone – Mott MacDonald​

Ben Masters – Beca​

Jason Quinn – COR Associates​

Josh McGlone – Toitu​

Jo Woods – Re/volve Energy

Patrick Arnold – 335 NZ​

Clare Dykes – Acoustic Engineering Services​

Hayley Koerbin – NDY​

Helen James – Lifemark​

Jason Strawbridge – Strawbridge Accessibility​

Michael Warwick – MAW Design

Sam Walle – Dark Arts Lighting Studio​

Scott Smith – Beca​

Tricia Love – Tricia Love Consultants

Warner Brunton – Mott Macdonald​

Alec Couchman – Brewer Davidson

Alex Reiche – Envirospec​

​Ferran de Miguel Mercader – Fletcher

Fiona Short – Warren and Mahoney Architects​

Jarred Butler – BRANZ​

Jeff Vickers – thinkstep ANZ

Katherine Featherstone - GBCA​

Laura Gemmell – Eco Choice Aotearoa​

Nick Carmen – Mott MacDonald​

Ralf Kessel – Concrete NZ​

Rick Osborne – Metals NZ​

Steve Aschebrock – INZIDE​

​Andrea Jarvis – Holmes Consulting​

Caleb Clarke – Morphum

Navin Weeraratne – Awa​

Peter Wilder – Boffa Miskell

Robin Mitchell – The Biodiversity Consultancy​

Tessa Meyer – Ministry for Primary Industries & NZGBC Future Thinker​

Tom Slade – Goodman​

Alain McKinney – Precinct Properties​

Duncan Munroe – Eke Panuku Development

Eloise Blewden – Aurecon & NZGBC Future Thinker​

Jake Kake – Matakohe Architecture + Urbanism​

Jesse Prendergast – MRCagney​

Matt Wilson – Ecoinsite​

Meredith Dale – The Urban Advisory & NZGBC Future Thinker​

Saatyesh Bhana – Argosy Property​

Vivien Li – Auckland Council​

Adam Weller – Waste Management​

Elaine Morgan – Green Gorilla​

Helena Stil – Nikau Demolition​

Mark Roberts – Auckland Council​

Get involved

For more information on the governance structure, or to discuss your expression of interest, please contact Brad Crowley

What is Green Star?

Green Star is Australasia's largest voluntary and truly holistic sustainability rating system for buildings, fitouts and communities.